Voxengo Premium Membership - All Voxengo Plugins For a Fixed One-Time Fee
Forums     Plugins     HarmoniEQ HarmoniEQ Crashing Cubase When CPU is High........

This topic was created before release of the latest product version, and it may contain details irrelevant to this version.  Replying is disabled for this topic.

Well first of all I just want to thank Aleskey for the best plugs on the market and I do own "almost" all of them.

Lately I have had 2 really bad Cubase hangs when I bring up an instance of HarmoniEQ when my CPU is really high.  Now here's where everyone shouts, "Then don't do that!".  Well, easier said then done, especially when I'm in the heat of a cool mix and the mouse is smokin'.  I have the latest and greatest hardware and software (I'm also a system builder and am obsessive about keeping current).  What's annoying about this problem is that Cubase won't recover and I can kiss my mix goodbye if it wasn't saved right before the hang.  I haven't had this problem with any other plugs.

Can anything be done about this within the plug?  I do understand that HarmoniEQ can be very CPU consumptive but I don't think it should kill my mix if I underestimate whether or not I have enough CPU resources available for another instance.

bmuskus

It should not be doing so for sure - CPU load can't be the trigger for hang-up or crash.  If HarmoniEQ crashes - it should be doing so even if CPU load is low.

Is this crash repeatable?  If it is repeatable, can you try inserting another (non-Voxengo) heavy CPU plug-in in the same scenario?

This crash can be strictly related to Cubase's stability on high CPU loads.

Wow that was fast............

I will do some debugging using your suggestions and post the results tomorrow.