Voxengo Premium Membership - All Voxengo Plugins For a Fixed One-Time Fee
Forums     Plugins     Elephant Trans Time (and Shape)

Hi there.  I'm just getting started with Elephant 3, and so far it's better than any other limiter I've used.  I do have some questions about the transient settings, though, that reading the manual didn't make clear for me.

Mainly, the manual says that higher trans time settings "preserve transients better" but don't allow for as much gain increase.  Well, somewhere else in this forum, it was explained that the trans time affected the shape of the transient (I'd guess through a look-ahead function), therefore acting more like an attack setting.  Well, this confuses me, as I'd think a faster attack setting would preserve the impact of transients better.  Indeed, the more I up that trans time, the less punch those snares seem to have.  Now, is this just my impression because there's less overall volume?  Or is it that the transient gets more of an increase over the rest of the music, but it's not as *sharp* of an increase?

See, what I'm getting at is, how does it preserve transients if you don't hear them sticking out of the mix better?  Perhaps a different sort of "preservation" is at work?  Or perhaps I'm missing something here.  I've read somewhere where Aleksey said harder music should use a lower setting, but maybe that was for some reason other than those acting as a faster attack.