Voxengo Premium Membership - All Voxengo Plugins For a Fixed One-Time Fee
Forums     Plugins     Redunoise Beginner Questions

Greetings everybody!

I'm a complete newbie at this digital audio stuff, but I must say that I'm delighted, though somewhat overwhelmed, with Redunoise.  I am eager to learn to put this thing to good use, but I have a few questions.  I'm using Redunoise to recover some otherwise unintelligible content from some old cassette tapes.  I actually had Redunoise set up doing an astonishing job at cleaning these tapes up, but it was all by trial and error.  I didn't know to save my settings as a preset, and I have since lost the settings and have never been able to duplicate it.  Here are my questions:

Is the threshold envelope supposed to mark the entire spectrum, or no?  In the manual, it seems implied that only the parts of the spectrum "behaving in a noisy pattern" are to be marked (by the way, what constitutes a noisy pattern?).  However, the Noise Learn function seems to mark the entire spectrum, implying that reduction will be applied to the entire spectrum.  This isn't what I want, is it?  How do I determine what to mark with the threshold and what not?

What does the Transband envelope really do?  The Q-A section on this in the manual is just over my head, I am sorry to say.  Also, I'm not sure how to center the transband "around" the threshold curve.  How do you center a line "around" a curve?  And what does the transband envelope actually mark?  The center of the band, or the top?

What does the manual mean when it says that the reduction curve is "closely interconnected with the Threshold and the Transition Band curves"?  How is it interconnected?

Maybe some of my questions are just because of my ignorance of how digital audio really works.  If so, does anyone know of some good resources (preferably internet!) where I can get this information?  I am eager to learn more.