Voxengo Premium Membership - All Voxengo Plugins For a Fixed One-Time Fee
Forums     Plugins     Crunchessor Question & feature request

This topic was created before release of the latest product version, and it may contain details irrelevant to this version.  Replying is disabled for this topic.

Request: 1.  If i change the output level the red clipping indicator should clear automatically.

2.  Some plug-ins (Sonalksis e.g.) allow ctrl+left clicking the clipping indicator to automatically adjust the output level to a setting where it just wouldn't have clipped - very handy i think!

My question is: Why is it so "easy" to light up that red clipping indicator? (not only in Crunchessor but also in other non-Voxengo plugs).  Shouldn't there be more than enough headroom with internal double precision and most hosts operating at 32bit float?  I can understand why clipping on the master bus must be avoided but a VST passing audio to a host channel....

I am a bedroom amateur - so sorry if this is a stupid question... : )

You do not have to pay attention to that clipping indicator because indeed, it does not really clip inside the plug-in.  It is an approximation pretending the plug-in stays as a last plug-in in the chain of a master bus.  If clip led does not light up it means that signal level stays within -1..1 'valid' range.

I'll make the output level reset on Out gain changes.  Thanks for the tip!

Your request 2 is not really a necessity in the light of my explanation above.

Great, thanks for the info!

I think the "clip" indicator could be labelled "over 0dBFS" or something, just to make it clear that Crunchessor doesn't perform any clipping, and it's only a warning sign that clipping may occur later, if the signal is routed to master output without limiting.  When I started using Crunchessor, at first I thought that it means clipping.

YF, you are right, I'll change that in the user's manual.